Lagrange Award – Multibody System Dynamics Outstanding PhD Thesis Prize

The Lagrange Award was established in 2017 by the IFToMM Technical Committee for Multibody Dynamics and Springer with the aim of recognizing the outstanding achievements of a young researcher (under 35 years old) at the early stage of their scientific career.

The Lagrange Award is presented annually by the IFToMM Technical Committee for Multibody Dynamics and Springer’s journal Multibody System Dynamics to recognize the most successful PhD thesis on Multibody Dynamics over the prior year as judged by the evaluation committee. The winner will receive a certificate, a one-year subscription to Multibody System Dynamics, and Springer books to the value of € 250. The decision will be announced during a Multibody Dynamics conference supported by IFToMM.

The Award Committee is composed by four members, namely the coordinator and three senior researchers in the field (proposed by the award coordinator and approved by the IFToMM TC for Multibody Dynamics).

Results – 2023 edition

The winner of the 2023 Lagrange Award is Yuanqing Gu (Tianjin University). Honourable mentions have been presented to Seonji Han (Kyung Hee University) and Patrick S. Schmid (Universität Stuttgart). Congratulations!

The Award was presented during the closing ceremony of IMSD 2024, the 7th International Conference on Multibody System Dynamics, held in Madison (WI), USA, on June 9-13, 2024.


The application submission period for PhD theses defended during 2023 closed in January 2024. The next application period will open during the last weeks of the current year.

Past awards

  • 2017 – Reza Sharif Razavian (University of Waterloo, Canada) and Sergio Conde Martín (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)
  • 2018 – Claudia Latella (Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy) and Pedro Antunes (Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal)
  • 2019 – Albert Peiret (McGill University, Canada)
  • 2020 – Filipe Marques (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
  • 2021 – Henrik Ebel (Universität Stuttgart, Germany),    Honourable mentions: Svenja Drücker (Technische Universität Hamburg, Germany) and Xinxin Yu (LUT University, Finland)
  • 2022 – Philipp Eichmeir (Technische Universität Wien, Austria),    Honourable mention: Simon Venpaemel (KU Leuven, Belgium)

Awarded by:

Contact information

Pascal Ziegler
Institute of Engineering and Computational Mechanics
University of Stuttgart